The Georgia Age of Consent is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 15 or younger in Georgia are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape. Georgia statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 16 who is not their spouse. While no close in age exemptions exist in Georgia, if the offender is under age 19 and the victim is no more than 4 years younger, the offense is classified as a misdemeanor rather than a felony. Georgia does not have a close-in-age exemption.
Minor Dating Laws
Legal relationship age difference
Your year-old son is dating a year-old female classmate — no big deal, right? Take, for example, the widely publicized case of Marcus Dwayne Dixon, an year-old high school honor student and star football player who had sex with a year-old female classmate. She claimed it was rape, he claimed it was consensual, and a jury acquitted him of the charges. However, because of their age difference, the jury still found Dixon guilty of statutory rape and aggravated child molestation, and sentenced him to a mandatory 10 years in prison under Georgia law. He walked out of prison on May 3, , at age 19, a free man.
Statutory Rape: The Age of Consent
Forums New posts Search forums. What's new New posts Latest activity. Members Current visitors. Ask a Question. Log in Register.
Facing a statutory rape charge in Georgia is a serious matter, but you stand a good chance of clearing your name if you are armed with knowledge and a good lawyer. Read on to learn what constitutes statutory rape in Georgia, if the state has a Romeo and Juliet exception, and more about Georgia dating and sexting law. Maha represents clients in state and federal court litigation as well as administrative proceedings.